27th Colloquium

28
Apr
2023
  • 28 Apr 2023
  • 17 May 2023
  • 546

The Colloquium's Writers’ Workshop is geared towards professors interested in expanding their publication skills, and increasing the impact of their research and teaching. This workshop is free and hosted by CISSE's Editorial Committee.


  • Eastern: 12PM - 2PM
  • Central: 11AM - 1PM
  • Mountain: 10AM - 12PM
  • Pacific: 9AM - 11AM
  • GMT: 4PM - 6PM

The workshop covers:

  • The contemporary toolkit for making others aware of your work
  • Address consideration and management of individual opportunities with h-index, orchid, Google Scholar, Arxiv
  • Analyze publication quality through eigen factor, writing for international conferences, Scopus, Web of Science
  • Selecting the right conference, journal, book, or other placement for your work
  • How to integrate research with collaboration, advancement, and job opportunities

  1. General welcome / intro
  2. Details and logistics of the day
  3. Conversation management
    • No breakout rooms
    • Rely on Q&A and the hosts will forward questions as they come up, inviting participants to speak
    • Questions are welcome and encouraged at any time
  4. Take away from the meetings
    • Key resource notes from the workshop discussion will be shared with the participants
    • Suggestions for enhancing the publication strategy of The Journal of the Colloquium
  5. Individual Opportunities To Enhance Impact
    • h-index
    • Orchid and other index sites
    • Google Scholar
    • Arxiv and other pre-press sites
    • Web of Science / Publons
    • ResearchGate.net / Academia.edu
    • Predatory Journal Awareness, thinkchecksubmit.org
    • Generative AI - (GPT, etc.)
    • Preparing for publications on specialized technologies (like IoT, etc.)
    • Turning classroom and lab experience into publishable research
    • Program Committees - and reviewing as a way to gear up for writing on a topic
  6. Analyzing Publication Opportunities
    • Scopus / Elsevier
    • Eigen Factor
    • Overleaf / LaTeX / EasyChair and other submission templates & methods
  7. Provide Feedback for enhancing the publication strategies of The Journal
    • Index and Abstract Registry Ideas
    • Aligning Templates for Distribution
    • Writer and Reviewer Guidelines

  1. Open Discussion and Sharing of Ideas and Opportunities
    • Any additional resources, strategies, and insights will be recorded and offered along with material covered in the first half of the workshop

Most important: Bring your questions and experiences to share.

The Editorial Board for the Colloquium will also be soliciting suggestions for how to enhance the publication strategy of The Journal of The Colloquium in preparation for next year’s journal.


Zoom Webinar

This workshop is open to all, so please introduce to colleagues, faculty, and students. Registrations are managed by Zoom.

Free Registration

This workshop will be recorded by the host for reference purposes only.


Please send any questions regarding paper submissions to paperchair@thecolloquium.org. For questions regarding the event, registration, or open calls, please email events@thecolloquium.org.