Join Login

Membership and collaboration facilitated by Member 365.


Join Login

Membership and collaboration facilitated by Member 365.

22nd Colloquium

Toward a New Era of Undergraduate Cybersecurity Education

  • Concluded
  • June 12, 2018
  • 2:00 PM to 2:45 PM
  • Poydras

Recently the CSEC2017 curricular guidelines for undergraduate cybersecurity education were released alongside new ABET accreditation criteria for undergraduate cybersecurity programs. These new curriculum standards provide a broad framework that supports a variety of approaches to cybersecurity education, complementing the National Centers of Academic Excellence (CAE) in Cyber Defense and Cyber Operations designations. Together these approaches provide resources and a reference model to design cybersecurity educational programs in higher education institutions. We see these approaches as framing a broader educational community than in the past and establishing the foundations for professionalization of a cybersecurity discipline.

In this presentation, we present the ABET accreditation criteria and provide an opportunity for the audience to provide a critique and suggestions for continuous improvement of the criteria, as well as charting a path forward to improve cybersecurity education in the US and beyond. Further, we discuss new efforts under consideration to accredit two-year, community college programs in cybersecurity, and provide an opportunity for attendees to provide feedback to our efforts.

Allen Parrish

Allen Parrish is Associate Vice President for Research and Professor of Computer Science and Engineering at Mississippi State University, effective May 2018. Dr. Parrish was previously Professor of Cyber Science and Chair of the Department of Cyber Science at The United States Naval Academy. Prior to June 2016, Dr. Parrish served for 26 years on the faculty at The University of Alabama in a variety of roles, including Founding Director of the Center for Advanced Public Safety. Throughout his career, Dr. Parrish has obtained approximately 200 funded projects totaling approximately $100M from a variety of state and federal sponsors. Dr. Parrish has published in approximately 100 refereed journals and conferences and is also active in computer science and cybersecurity education, as well as in computing accreditation through a variety of volunteer and leadership roles with ABET. Dr. Parrish received a Ph.D. in computer and information science from The Ohio State University in 1990.

Rajendra K. Raj

Rajendra K. Raj is a professor of computer science at the Rochester Institute of Technology. His research is at the nexus of distributed computing, big data analytics and cybersecurity, as applied to critical infrastructure protection and healthcare. Interested in cybersecurity education, Dr. Raj helped to launch RITs M.S. program in computer security in 2004, and to found its computing security department in 2012. He currently serves as a member of the Executive Committee of ABETs Computing Accreditation Commission (CAC). As co-chair of the CAC Criteria Committee, Dr. Raj led the effort to revise accreditation criteria for all computing programs and to create the draft cybersecurity program criteria. He was previously a vice president in information technology at Morgan Stanley & Co., where he designed, developed and managed proprietary, private-cloud global-infrastructures to support secure financial applications operating in several international offices. Dr. Raj has a Ph.D. in computer science from the University of Washington in Seattle.

Lawrence G. Jones

Lawrence G. Jones was the 2015-16 ABET President. In his 30 years volunteering for ABET, he has served on the Board of Directors, as Chair of the Accreditation Council, and as Chair, Commissioner and Program Evaluator of the Computing Accreditation Commission.

Retired as a Distinguished Principal Researcher from the Software Engineering Institute (SEI) of Carnegie Mellon University, Jones led research and customer projects in software architecture and software product lines. Prior to joining the SEI, he served a career in the U.S. Air Force and was the Chair of the Computer Science Department at the U.S. Air Force Academy.

Jones is an ABET Fellow, a CSAB Fellow, a Senior Member of both the ACM and IEEE, and a member of the Arkansas Academy of Computing. He holds a PhD in computer science from Vanderbilt University, MS and BS degrees in industrial engineering from the University of Arkansas.

Last modified on Saturday, 07 April 2018 23:27

The Colloquium recognizes that the protection of information and infrastructures that are used to create, store, process, and communicate information is vital to business continuity and security. The Colloquium's goal is to work together to define current and emerging requirements for information assurance education and to influence and encourage the development and expansion of information assurance curricula, especially at the graduate and undergraduate levels.


Save money and support the Colloquium for Information Systems Security Education.

Recent Posts